A Split second

 By Ashlee Zlotnick

I got a glimpse of your face today

I haven’t see you smile in awhile

And I can’t be the one to blame

Because you decided to end it.

It happened about a month ago

We were friends for years

But it took you 5 minutes,

to say it’s over and a split second to say bye.

This decision came out of no where

After all these years, you done

I still can’t bare the thought of goodbye

it took you a split second to say bye.

Today I feel at peace with it

Today I learnt to accept,

to accept to fact it’s over

One day I’ll say good bye in a second.

5 Comments »

  1. Jason Said:

    good poem

  2. Would be Mich Said:

    You are getting good at this nut now try and reduce the number of words you use to say the same thing and I assure you that it iwll have a different effect and it’ll be more punchier. Eg.
    We were friends for years
    but a month ago
    you ended it all.
    For 5 minutes
    You pressed minus
    In a spilt second,
    You were gone

  3. Cammy Said:

    I’m so proud of ash, and I’m especially proud of this poem 🙂 I’m so glad uve moved on :)these poems and stories are extremely touching 🙂

  4. Cammy Said:

    Ash I’m so proud of you 🙂 and I’m especially proud of this poem 🙂 I’m so glad uve moved on 🙂 ur poems and stories are extremely touching, ur amazing!

  5. lovecybelle Said:

    I think Would Be Mich is right. Definitely reduce number of words to produce more impact. You don’t want to drag things along too far…
    I love the first line!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

