The Wink

 

By Ashlee Zlotnick

When you used to think

I gave yo u a little wink

It just reassured you

And you knew what to do

But those days are over

I can’t believe you not sober

Before you pick up that drink

I just gave you a little wink

In these cold-hearted days

I can’t help but to gaze

You saw me looking at you

And you knew just what to do

You’ve been sober for a while

And I can’t help but smile

So if you ever pick up a glass

I hope this memory will pass

The one of when you used to think

I used to give you a wink

I hope it still reassured you

About what you have to do.

Leave a Reply

