The Perfect Pair of Shoes

By: Ashlee Zlotnick

Every single person has a side of them they don’t reveal. They don’t show you that side because they are either scared or they don’t know it exists. The shoes I wear once a week bring out a side of me only 5 people see. These shoes help me bring out aside of me I never knew I had up until 5 years ago.

I have worn similar shoes for a long time, before I put the shoes that changed my life forever. When I was 2 I put on Ballet shoes for the first time. I did Ballet for 6 years but the shoe did not fit right. They say you are the shoes you wear. I am not the type of person who has a desire to dance on my toes but I did for so long because; in order to become a good dancer you need to do Ballet as grounding. Towards the end of the 6th year I cried every time I had to go to Ballet so I stopped but I felt as if I had something missing.

I put on my second pair of dance shoes when I was 5 years old. Modern shoes. The   shoe did fit a bit better that the Ballet shoe. My teacher decided to incorporate hip-hop into our studio, so I was wearing 2 pairs of shoes: Modern shoes and takkies for Hip-Hop. I felt satisfaction. A year later I went on stage for my first time. My heart was pumping out of my chest. The music started to play and my number was called. I was so nervous I thought I couldn’t smile. The most amazing feeling I have ever has happened that night. I walked on and it was like the smile just painted itself on my face. I got an adrenalin rush and I danced my heart out. I will never forget that night because it was the first time I felt that adrenalin rush and I knew I had to get more. As time went by I started to get bored. I felt like I was doing the same dance over and over again just to different music. I still had a need for that adrenalin rush as I was addicted to this drug. I was getting the rush on stage but my desire to dance was getting thinner and thinner. What happened to Ballet was happening to Modern and Hip-Hop. Yes I was good and I loved to dance but my teacher turned my love for something into hate. You see my Modern teacher was my Ballet teacher and by the time I realized I enjoyed the dance and not her teaching method it was too late. My dislike for dance had grown and I had to stop due to the fact that my need for the adrenalin rush had disappeared and my search for the perfect pair of shoes continued. 

6 months later I was a 10-year-old girl who was dying inside. Every day I had a need t find the pair of shoes that fitted just right. I tried Tap and I wasn’t for me. I thought of going back to Modern but to a different teacher. When that thought came into my mind I wanted to scream because I could never put on the shoes that as quick as that adrenalin rush came so it went and that scared me. I knew I could never do Modern again and I was scared I would never dance again! My one friend told me about the dance she does and I thought I might as well try. I have nothing to lose. That day changed my life forever.

I never thought I would be the type of person who would put on heels and dance in them. My mom bought me a pair of black lace up ballroom shoes. They were a size 4 and a half and my foot slipped in and fitted like Cinderella’s foot fitted into the glass slipper. It was perfect. It was like the pair of shoes have been waiting on the shelf; waiting for me patiently. When I did the buckle I felt that adrenalin rush and I knew this would be an experience like that night in stage. I walked into the class open-minded about this dance form and I walked out hooked.

5 years later I have never been so interested and passionate about a dance form in my life. when the music starts and my partner and I take hold, the whole world stops and my partner and I are the only things moving. It is as if I put my life on hold and all my emotions are displayed in a form of dance instead of verbal. I dance 11 dances with the same pair of shoes but a difference persona comes alive for each dance. When I dance I show my true emotions and I love every moment of it.

So when you feel the shoe doesn’t fit rather change styles. One day you will find the perfect pair of shoes that allows you to reveal the true you.

Leave a Reply

