My Volcano(Dancentre)

By:Ashlee Zlotnick

For those of you who follow my blog and don’t know me personally, I am a Ballroom and Latin American dancer. I have been dancing for practically all my life but I have been doing Ballroom for 5 years only and I have no plan on stopping any time soon. I am going to tell you about my muse.

5 years ago a friend of mine told me about Ballroom and ever since that first lesson I have been hooked on it. I have done most form of dances and I have performed on stage most of my life. Every time I performed I got an adrenalin rush and it is the most amazing feelings I have ever felt in my life. The reason why I turned to Ballroom was because I was not getting that rush in class and soon I had no desire to go on stage and that was most probably the scariest feelings of my life. It is like a drug addict coming to you and saying I have no desire to do drugs anymore but I am still craving that high.

When I see that it is a Monday I can’t help but want to jump up and down because I know that they second my school bell rings I am just a few minutes away from dancing. I swear when I am sick or don’t have dancing; my whole week is ruined because I don’t get my rush. It is hard to explain how I feel when I dance but I will try. Close your eyes and picture having a volcano in your body. Every day the volcano rumbles a little but the second Monday comes it starts to erupt slowly but surely. When you walk into the Dance studio the volcano erupts fully and you are unable to contain the lava inside so it comes out in a form of this red, hot lava. This is how I feel every single time I hit the dance floor or my dance lessons. Dance makes me express how I feel and show everyone who I truly am.  It is the most astonishing, indescribable feeling I have ever had and I get it every time I dance. I place my high heel shoes on my feet and the volcano starts to shake. A take hold of my partner and the volcano erupts. Finally I start to move my feet around the dance floor and the lava cannot be contained so it comes out of the volcano. The volcano is my passion for dance and my desire to be the best dancer I can be.  In order for a volcano to erupt it has to have something that pushes the lava out and that is my ballroom teacher.

Louis Fourie is the most inspiring, encouraging, loving, understanding man I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and he the best dancer I have ever watched. When he demonstrates a new move to the class I am astonished. There is nothing he can’t do and I am very privileged to have him as my Ballroom teacher and mentor. He is the only teacher I have ever had that has seen my true potential and encouraged me to do better. When I dance with him, it is like the world stops and all that is moving is me and him and at that very moment I get a rush and it is the best feeling in the world.

You see I feel you can teach anyone to dance, as long as you can move your feet to the beat of the music you are dancing however there is more to dancing than just the moves and music. You have to have the need and the want to get up in the morning and go and dance. You have to have a passion for it in order for you to be the best dancer you can be and I believe that if you have the desire and passion for it, then you can be the best dancer you can because you have all the elements of dance: the steps, the music, the beat and lastly the passion.

My dance studio incorporates all 3 elements of dance and makes the lessons fun and enjoyable and at the same time you will be learning to dance as well as exercising. We have lots of different classes to offer such as a couples class and singles for all ages. If you would like more details on our studio and how to become part of our Ballroom family please feel free to contact me via email: ashbucket@ymail.com

It may take two to tango but it takes one to start. Once you email me and see a class for yourself trust me it is the best decision you will ever make and all it takes is one simple email telling me you want details on how to get that volcano inside to erupt.

Leave a Reply

