I don’t Want To Go Back

By:Ashlee Zlotnick

I don’t want to go back

and remember the day…

The day in which

you were taken away.

I got out the car

and walked up the stairs.

They brought your body out

my body just could not bare.

You were in a little box

and we gathered around you

as if we were watching ships in a dock.

It was now time,

we said a prayer

and off we went.

A noise made, you would not dare!

They placed you in the ground.

The noise the sand made

as it was shoveled,I’ll never forget.

To think that people got paid

to make a young person’s grave.

Now I have to go back

and stand before you again.

This time I have to watch them unpack

a stone with your name on it.

I don’t want to go back

and remember the day…

The day in which

you were taken away.

But none the less I have to go.

I’ll try my best to be brave.

There is nothing I can do

to control my emotions because I’m their slave.

 

19 Comments »

  1. This creation is very beautiful in the poignant pain of its poetic form. What I like most about it, is your words through pain evoke courage. Well written!

  2. Dakshi Said:

    “There is nothing I can do

    to control my emotions because I’m their slave.”

    wow…
    fantastic..

    • poetsandall Said:

      Thank you so much. It is true though, we cannot contol our emotions, they control us

  3. tasithoughts Said:

    Amazing how you use your words to evoke the deepest feelings about pain and with the bravery underlying it.

    JP

    http://tasithoughts.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/heart-master/

  4. I really like this poem – a lot. The part where it talks about people getting paid to make a young person’s grave? Amazing. I think this is my favorite poem I’ve ever stumbled upon during poet’s rally.

    • poetsandall Said:

      Your comment brought tears to my eyes. It means so much to me. Thank you so much

  5. A.B. Thomas Said:

    Such a grand write on such a tragic story – well done

  6. swanrose Said:

    powerful write and powerful pic as well. very well done

  7. Jingle Said:

    powerful sadness, well conveyed.

  8. Truly beautiful and heart-wrenching

  9. Miriam Sagan Said:

    Heartbreaking–hit home.

    • poetsandall Said:

      I am sorry it hit home for you. It is not an easy thing to go through. My wishes are with you

  10. meiro Said:

    Heart wrenching
    Nice poem
    Best wishes

  11. From a heart wide open, well written and brave.

  12. Dan Baker Said:

    A beautiful poem! Such Poignant words!

  13. aynsley7 Said:

    Wow.
    just Wow.

  14. fordogzsake Said:

    i could feel the pain as if it were my own. thank you for sharing

  15. Morning Said:

    love this,

    fantastic piece.

    🙂

  16. terri0729 Said:

    Wow, very raw emotionally, sad loss expressed very vividly! Great job. Blessings, Terri


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

