I Am Dancing for You

By:Ashlee Zlotnick

This time next week I am dancing in my event.
I am so excited to be dancing in front of people again.
My body is yearning for that adrenalin rush as the light
hits my face.
My heart starts pounding as I finish a dance and wait for the applause.
I have been looking forward to this for 8 months now however
I am sad…

You were meant to start to dance this year with me.
You were meant to be in my show.
You were meant to feel the adrenalin rush for the first time
And hear the audience applause for us both,
But you are no longer with us today.

As much as I try, I can’t hold back my tears.
As much as I try to forget that day,
I simply cannot forget it or you for that matter.
Honestly I am not upset or ashamed of keeping you in my
heart
Because I know that you would want me to keep you there.

So next week I will place the bottle cap I kept in my
pocket.
That was the last drink you and I ever shared together.
I am going to go onto that dance floor with a smile on my
face
And with you in my heart and I know you are going to be with
me.
Next week Saturday night, I am dancing for you Ryan!

Leave a Reply

