Ping Pong Ball

By: Ashlee Zlotnick

I can’t help how I feel.
I don’t want this to be real.
I feel like a ping-pong ball.
I have nothing inside and a strong shell-like a wall.

When people see me,
they think I’m strong and free.
BUT under my mask… fake smiles,
I’m dying inside for miles and miles.

Walking into the hospital room
I get hit with the sadness and gloom.
On my face is a smile so untrue
because I don’t want to upset you.

A ping-pong ball is hard outside.
Inside its air, nothing to be seen or decide.
Without my hard shell, I would not get through
this hard time when my family need me to.

My shell keeps me going, up straight and strong.
I am ready to tackle this game of ping-pong.
You will get better and come out on top.
My positivity and your fighting will never stop!

4 Comments »

  1. This really touched me.
    I hope whoever it is, gets better soon ! πŸ™‚
    I just published another poem. Hope you like it.

  2. poetsandall Said:

    Thank you so much angel. He will get better soon…O hope so at least. Your poem was amazing

  3. Angelo Borth Said:

    Aw, this was a very nice post. In idea I would like to put in writing like this additionally ? taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article? however what can I say? I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances appear to get one thing done.

    • poetsandall Said:

      Thank you so much. All you need to do is pick up a pen and let your heart to the talking. You are the scribe for your heart when it comes to poetry I believe. Thank you for taking time out to read my blog, means a lot


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

