Yom Kippur

Good afternoon everyone

So today is Yom Kippur. It is a day where us Jews fast for 25 hours and repent for all our sins. Sounds like a pain right. Fast for a long time, sit in shul and say sorry for all the things we will probably do again. So what did I learn from all of this??? I will tell you

There is a section today where people who have lost loved ones sit in a service and remember their loved ones. I thank G-D do not have to sit in this service but before it I was told a story I want to share with you.

A while ago there was this girl who had to go to jail for 11 and a half years because she stood up for what she believed in. She had a father and an 8 month old son. She left a red purse with the father and told him to please look after her son and she will see them both in 11 years time. The only thing that kept her going in prison was the thought of her son. 11 years past and she was released and went to her father and asked where her son was. He said he was at school and that she must go look for him.”But father I have changed and the last time I saw him he was 8 months old. How can he remember me?” Her father when to the bedroom and brought her the red purse.” This will reunite the two of you. Every member I share with him about you, I show him this red purse. Go and find your son my child.” She took the red purse and went to the school. The bell rand and all the children came out. A young boy pulled on her arm and said, “Mommy is that you?” She started to cry and embraced her son and did not want to let go.

What do we learn from this story??? Every family needs a red purse for the loved ones that has passed away. Their memories can live on inside of us. 4 times a year, their souls come down to earth and stands next to us during this service and they see what we have done with their memories and their lessons they have taught us. As long as we have the red purse, they will be able to find us and we can find them in anything we do that they taught us or used to do. Something as simple as making their favourite food or sharing a lesson with your children.

They are always there for us when we need them. Not many of us look up and talk to our family members that have died but they are right there waiting to listen to you and even though they cannot tell us what to do, it is comforting to know someone will always listen.

I hope you take this story to heart and realise that keeping people in our hearts, will keep their memories alive.

Have a good fast my fellow Jews and may you all be inscribed in the book of life.

Ash

xxx

14 Comments »

  1. Shalon Said:

    I dugg some of you post as I thought they were very helpful very useful

  2. I have been browsing online greater than three hours nowadays, but I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It is beautiful price sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the internet can be much more helpful than ever before.

  3. luyen thi Said:

    I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this site. Reading this information So i am happy to express that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most definitely will make certain to do not overlook this web site and give it a look on a constant basis.

    • poetsandall Said:

      I am so glad you found my site. Chat soon and thank you for viewing my site

  4. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with helpful information to paintings on. You’ve done an impressive process and our entire neighborhood can be thankful to you.

  5. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.

    I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a
    famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    • poetsandall Said:

      Thank you. You have left me speechless. Your comment means a lot to me xxx

  6. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information about this subject for a long time and yours is the best I’ve came upon till now. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain about the source?|What i do not realize is in truth how you’re now not really a lot more smartly-favored than you may be now. You’re very intelligent.

  7. This is a top website over here. I think I’ll visit your website more if you post more of this kind of specific information. Thanks a lot for posting this information.

  8. bulk herbs Said:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I hope to offer something back and aid others such as you helped me.

  9. Huey Neiger Said:

    I simply want to mention I am just all new to weblog and truly liked you’re blog site. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You definitely have perfect well written articles. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your webpage.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

