Mandela day

Hey guys!

Happy Mandela day!!! Today we celebrate the birthday of one of the most influential people in the world, Nelson Mandela. This man dedicated his life to making our country a much better place and to repay him, we dedicate 67 minutes of our time to better our community and the lives of our people.

Today I went to Park Care which is a facility whereby they house elderly people and they provide them with the care and attention that they need. My college went to Park Care and we gave the residence a hand and arm massage as well as filed their nails and gave them someone to talk to. Now I have always done community service and I absolutely love doing it but something about today lit something up inside of me and made me love life and what I am doing even more. I sat with the people and I listened to their stories and about their grandkids and children and how much love they have for people. Normally when you think of old people, you think of grumpy people but these guys were amazing.

They sat with us and told us jokes and life lessons and at the end of it they thanked us for spending time with them and giving them our magic touch… Today made me open my eyes and made me realise how much I am missing helping people. the care takers at Park Care are really amazing amazing people and if you guys have a chance, you must go to them and spend some time with the residence, you will absolutely love being there and you will want to go back.

http://www.parkcare.co.za

Thank you Park Care for your amazing work you do for these people and thank you for giving me the opportunity to come and visit people.

Much love guys
Ash
xxx

Leave a Reply

