Be thankful

Hey guys

So the past week has not been very fun for me at all! I spent most of my week in a hospital waiting room because my grandfather was in hospital and having all that time makes you think. You can’t do anything else so thinking was bound to happen and I have a new understanding of how much my family means to me…

Ok so firstly, I have come to understand how lucky I am to have 3 grandparents alive and even though my other grandfather is not here with us anymore, I know he is there to protect me and he is always looking over me and I really do hope that he is proud of who I have become. You see, today I got a look at what my life would have been like if I had stayed with the rebel group and let me tell you it did not look very pretty and I am very proud of who I have become. I have my family to thank for that because they have kept me on the right track of life. Well the right track for me anyway. Thank G-D my Oupie is ok now and is at home recovering.

They always say that once you don’t have something, you realise how much you need it. Well let me tell you the past few days I have not been able to speak to my lil sis because of our Jewish holiday but sitting in the hospital I began to think about my life and how much I have and who I have. See I don’t measure wealth from material things but I measure wealth from who you have in your life and how much love you have in your life and what comes with the people in your life. I am the most luckiest person in the world! The reason is simple: I have parents who love me, I have a brother who drives me insane but he always makes me laugh and I love him with all my heart and soul. I have a Shmoobear who gives me feel better juice and grey hairs and I am very proud of her! Then there is my lil sis… It is very hard to sum up how much she has done for me but she is my muse and inspiration. I love her round and round the world and never ever stops

When I am down and don’t know why I am who I am and why I do the things I do, I just need to look at my 3 siblings and then the answer is right there in front of me… I wake up in the morning to say good morning to them and my experiences help me to guide them and having their love and acceptance is what I live for. As corny as that sounds, my family really is my drive and my reasoning at the moment for succeeding in life. At the end of the day, they are always going to be there and friends come and go but my family is my everything. They going to be there when I finish college, they will be sitting next to me when I get married, they will be there for my first child and grandchild and they will be there in the end.

Moral of my shitty week… My family is my everything. You only get one family so try make it work between yours. No-one said that a family is perfect because none are! Every single family have problems but keep the bigger picture in mind… you only have one family and at the end of the day, they have been there for you when you fell off your bike or your first heart break so just because you don’t live with them anymore, doesn’t mean that the bond needs to disappear and break.

Everything can be glued you just have to want to glue it and have the patience to sit and wait for it to dry…

Ash
xxx

Leave a Reply

