A third of the way there

Hey guys

I know I have not written in a really long time. Truth is I was not ready to write this post let alone think about what it really means. I have finished first year! A year ago I was writing about how I cannot believe I have finished school and how scared yet excited I was to go through to the next stage in my life… now here I am! I am a third of the way up this mountain that is stopping me from going out there to conquer my career.

I have never been the type of person to concentrate on a career but rather concentrate on what the career can do for people. I am studying a path that will allow me to better people in a way that everyone loves. I pamper people and at the same time, I use my pamper skills to make them feel better about themselves and boost their confidence. I was working at a big corporate office the other day and everyone told me that I am good at what I do and I should be doing physiotherapy because my hands are so strong. Right, I am happy people are looking out for me but I know where I need to be and what I need to do with my life in order to reach my full potential and help people at the same time. I might be going into an aspect of medicine but not what everyone thinks so we will see. I will keep you all posted with that.

There was a point where I was not sure that this is where I need to be but then this lady came up to me and told me that she has requested that I massage her and do her make-up from now on. Was an amazing moment for me and that is when I realized that where I am is where I need to be. Nowadays, I have spas calling me and asking me to come work for them as they have heard about me and want me. For a first year, it is an amazing accomplishment and I am really proud of myself. Having said that, I now have a reputation that I need to uphold and that is scaring me like you guys have no idea. I get my report tomorrow and I know that I have passed but I am scared that I don’t live up to everyone’s expectations and standards. Even the examiners were treating me differently to everyone else because of what they have heard about me. So it is not that I doubt myself in any shape or form! I just need to meet their expectations and I don’t want to disappoint anyone that is all.

On the upside, I have found a bunch of friends that share a common interest and goal with me. It is an amazing feeling to know that there are other weridos out there just like me in terms of education and where they want to go with their lives… 4 years ago, I had an idea of how this day would be like: I would be applying for cruise ships and all over seas work. Earn in dollars and travel the world, not much to complain about! Would have been a once in a life time but my life is not what it used to be. My mind is not set on the money and all the material things although this is an amazing industry to be in! I just cannot see myself leaving my loved ones for up to a year at a time. I would far rather stay here and work my way up and build a reputation here than to miss out on my siblings growing up and my grandparents. Life is short and you have to live each day as if it is your last so that is what I am doing. I know what is important and what isn’t and for me, family is everything.

Goals change and ideas change but a priority stays…

Leave a Reply

