Family- Hard work!

Hey guys

So for those of you who follow all my posts (Thank you) But you would know that I am a very big family person. My family is my everything and I don’t know where I would be without them. I don’t have the perfect relationship with some of my family members but I have tried very hard and there comes a time whereby you have to just take your hand back and rest for awhile before you try again. Having said that, sometimes you need to stop trying because end of the day, you the only one that gets hurt because you the only party that cares and wants to try.

I am the oldest in my family and at times that can be very challenging for me. I watch my siblings grow up, make very big mistakes and yet there is nothing I can do about it except support them. Let my explain: Being the oldest comes with its own responsibilities and challenges. I have to always do the right thing and set the example and at times that can be hard and a lot of pressure. I cannot just lose it and go off the tracks for a bit because I have 3 younger people watching me. Then of course I have the cousins watching as well so I need to step up and do the right thing.

Having said that, I always have a way to protect them. They do not know what I do or how I do it but I do and that keeps me sane. Sitting back and watching them learn makes me feel helpless and trapped. They need to do things for themselves and learn certain things but it is not easy for me to let them do it because I know where it is going to end most of the time. Wrong subject choice, wrong crowd of friends, wrong partners and so on but I will never ever let them hit rock bottom because its too sore to watch that. Once you there, it is very hard to get back up without bruises and scars. Bruises are good but there is a limit.

I will always support their choices and decisions because it is whats they want to do and what they feel is right for them at that moment. I advice them and will always be there to guide them in their road choices but they need to make the decision. I will give them both good and bad sides of the story. I will make them think of every angle but like they say, ‘you can take a horse to water but you can’t make it drink’ I cannot make them listen to me but I will say what I need to say. After that, it is up to them to make the decision. I will always be the one that is there at the end of the day. Be the punching bag, someone to blame, a shoulder to cry on and someone to talk to.

Family is everything, you only get one so do the right thing and be there for them when they need you because when it is your turn to need someone, you want your family to be there to guide you.

Love
Ash
xxx

Leave a Reply

